Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Advertise with us

Girl Scouts present awards at banquet

By Staff Reports
April 24, 2010 at 4:22 p.m.

The Girl Scout Service Unit 372/East Texas had its annual banquet recently that included a Gold Award presentation.

Kelli Gollmitzer earned Girl Scouting's highest honor when she created an entertainment cart with DVDs and CDs and players for Margaret's House Hospice in Longview. The project included organizing the DVD/CD collection drive, educating local groups of the need, raising funds to purchase the equipment and assembling two carts.

Miss Gollmitzer was in Scouting for 13 years and earned Bronze and Silver awards in addition to her Gold Award.

Assisting her with the project were Gold Advisor Michelle Brannon, her Gold Committee Liason Rebecca Mercer and Scouting Advisor Tanya Plumb.

Silver Awards, which are projects that help girls build skills, explore careers, gain leadership skills and commit to self-improvement, were also awarded:

Troop 2025 of Marshall, leader is Rene Blohm: Leslie Martinez for handmade children's books for Haiti.

Troop 800 of Marshall, leader is Joyce Ross-Gatson: Anetria Alexander for a recruiting video for Girl Scouts; Ladielle Henderson for TAKS math tutoring at Karnack ISD; Jewel Ross-Ferguson for handmade qults for injured soldiers.

Troop 1268 of Marshall, leader is Robyn Brown: Kathleen Braden for care kits for those in crisis; Samantha Brown for an Earth-friendly Badge Workshop; Rosemay Krudewig for Relax on a Bench in the Park; Dalyndria Manning and Keicee Moore for Caring for our Pets Badge workshop; and Alexandrea Reynolds for Eyeglasses for the Less Fortunate.

Bronze Awards are the highest awards a Junior Girl Scout can receive and are earned through projects that teach leadership and planning skills necessary to follow through on a project that benefits the community. Earning the Bronze Award:

Troop 59, Elysian Fields, leader is Mary Findley: Sarah Findley, Caitlyn Martin, Audrey Woodley, Katie Finley, Lacy Stapleton and Emily Greene for their project "Science & Action Brownie Badge Workshop.

Troop 1024 of Marshall, leader is Cherie Masotti: Ariana Garcia, Jeannine Lucio, Kierra HIcks, Nia McElhanon, Dakota Dunham, Katie Masotti and Savannah Mantooth for their project of building doghouses and collecting food for the Humane Society.

Awards also were presented to leaders and volunteers.

Outstanding Leader Awards were presented to Laura Robbins, Sonya Hagans, and Cynthia Taylor.

Outstanding Volunteer Awards were presented to Cookie Manager, Laurie Minter.

Green Angel Pins were awarded to Cheri Masotti and Michelle Brannon.

Appreciation Pin went to Wanda Risner.

Bridging this year were:

From Brownie to Junior:

Troop 1026 of Hallsville, leader is Teressa Reed: Jaide Davis, Madison Mansinger and Cherish Reed.

Troop 3428 of Hallsville, leader is Sonya Hagans: Alexia Myers, Jessica Thomas, Sarah Davis, Brianna Young, Kathryn Hagans, Cala Stone and Shelby Hagans.

Troop 8609 of Marshall, leader is Cynthia Taylor: Jakiya Fisher, Sydney Payne, DeShona Jemigan, Brianne Young and JaQualia Morris.

From Junior to Cadette:

Troop 59 of Elysian Fields: Sarah Findley, Emily Greene, Caitlyn Martin and Audrey Woodley.

Troop 274 of Marshall, leader is Stacey Hargroue: McKenzie Minter, Amber Woolen and Haley Woolen.

Troop 1024: Ariana Garcia, Kierra Hicks, Dakota Dunham, Nia McElhanon and Jeannine Lucio.

From Cadette to Ambassador:

Troop 800: Anetria Alexander, Ladielle Henderson, Ashley Jones and Jewel Ross-Ferguson.

From Cadette to Senior:

Troop 1268 of Marshall: Kathleen "Katie" Braden, Rosemary "Rosie" Krudewig, Keicee Moore, Samantha Brown, Dalyndria Manning and Alexandrea "Ali" Reynolds.

Lifetime Membership Pins were presented to Jessica Mayer, Alexandra Chriswell and Kelli Gollmitzer.

Following the banquet a silent auction was conducted to raise funds for the Girl Scout Family Partnership Program. The program is a way for Girl Scout families to invest in the girl's future through programs, camp improvements, scholarships, volunteer support and other services.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia