The opening period to file for upcoming school board and city elections is set for Jan. 19.

Several upcoming Harrison County-area school districts and cities are set to host school board trustee elections, city council and mayoral elections in the upcoming May election, and the sign-up to run as a candidate is set to open this month.

The upcoming filing period will open on Jan. 19 and the deadline to sign up for election will close at 5 p.m. on Feb. 18 for the May elections.

To ensure a Texas resident is registered to vote, visit

Here’s a list of candidates for the upcoming May election by school district. Elysian Fields ISD and Harleton ISD hold school board elections in November.

Marshall ISD

Marshall ISD has two seats that will be on the upcoming ballots, including the District 2 trustee seat which is currently held by Rudy Medina. Also on the ballot will be the District 3 seat currently held by Helen Warwick.

District residents interested in running for either of the open seats should visit the Marshall ISD Administration Building, located at 1305 E. Pinecrest Drive to pick up a candidate packet. Completed packets should be returned to the administration building during the filing period. For questions or concerns, contact Marshall ISD Secretary to the Board of Trustees Jessica Scott at (903) 927-8713 or by email at

Hallsville ISD

Hallsville ISD also has two trustee seats that will be on the upcoming ballot. Place 1 seat, currently held by Shane Goswick, and Place 6 seat, currently held by Troy Crafton, will both be open for filing on Jan. 19.

Potential candidates should pick up a trustee filing packet from the Hallsville ISD Administration offices, located at 311 Willow St. or by mail by addressing the packet to “Attn: Gwen Walker, P.O. Box 810, Hallsville, TX 75650. Packets can also be requested and submitted by emailing Walker at

Waskom ISD

Waskom ISD has two seats that will be up in May 2022 held by President Dane Loyd, Vice President Jacob Speight.

Applications may be filed between 7:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. at the Waskom ISD Administration Office, 365 School Ave. in Waskom. Applications can also be mailed to Waskom ISD, P.O. Box 748, Waskom, TX 75692, emailed to or faxed to (903) 687-3253.

Jefferson ISD

Jefferson ISD has three seats that will be up for the 2022 spring elections, including the Place 1 seat currently held by Jason Bonner, the Place 2 seat currently held by Kent Thigpen and the Place 3 seat currently held by Bobby Langbartels.

Interested candidates should pick up a filing packet at the Jefferson ISD Administration Building, located at 1600 MLK Dr., or by emailing Barbara Cox at or by fax at 903-665-7367. Packets must be turned in by 4 p.m. on Feb. 18.

Recommended For You