The city of Marshall’s Historic Landmark Preservation Board and the Harrison County Historical Committee will host a joint presentation of awards recognizing people and projects that have made significant contributions to preserving Marshall and Harrison County’s historic past in 2019.

The awards were presented at 2 p.m. Sunday, May 19 at the Harrison County courthouse, with a reception following in the jury room.

The public is invited to attend.

The Historic Landmark Preservation Board is the city commission-appointed board charged with protecting and enhancing Marshall’s historic structures and neighborhoods.

Selection for recognition is based on the project’s sensitivity to the historic character and fabric of Marshall’s buildings and historic areas.

Wes Morrison, Marshall’s Historic Preservation Officer, announced the 2019 recipients of “Certificates of Appreciation” for historic preservation efforts in the city. Eight awards in three different categories will be presented.

“We recognize those who have made an effort to make their neighborhoods and businesses better by improving their historical properties,” Morrison said. “Efforts like these are making a difference in Marshall’s neighborhoods and the downtown area.”

The Harrison County Historical Commission (HCHC) is the county agency for historic preservation.

Its mission is to assist the commissioner’s court and the Texas Historical Commission (THC) in the preservation of the county’s historic and cultural resource.

The commission has established a series of awards to acknowledge efforts towards historic preservation in Harrison County, beginning with the Max Lale Award in 2007.

Named in honor of former Harrison County Historical Commission chairman, journalist, historian and author Max S. Lale, the award recognizes an individual, organization or project that has significantly contributed to the understanding or preservation of the county’s cultural and historical resources.

The recipient this year is Sam Moseley.

The Marjorie Bryant Perkins Outstanding Volunteer award, named for Marjorie Bryant Perkins, was a well-known pioneering preservationist and community activist of Harrison County and Marshall.

She served as a Harrison County Historical Commission member for over 40 years and founded the Friends of the Starr Home annual croquet tournament. This award recognizes an individual for outstanding volunteer service to historic preservation, downtown revitalization, heritage tourism, arts and education or community service.

The recipients this year are Logan and Sagan Jameson-Hatch.

The Harrison County Historical Commission Award of Merit rounds out the award presented annually by the commission.

This award recognizes the efforts and/or contributions of an individual or organization involved in preserving Harrison County’s cultural and historical resources.

The award of merit this year recognizes Jean Birmingham.

Certificates from the Historic Landmark Preservation Board will be presented in the following categories:

Restoration and Rehabilitation of Historic Buildings

  • Michael Scott and Kelli Kerby, 1407 East Houston
  • Larry K. and Rita L. Hooper, 1004 East Houston
  • Jose Luis Lopez Ramirez, 1605 Popular
  • Tomas Vera-Rojas and Amira Luisa Houze, 704 North Franklin
  • John and Mary Lynn Vassar, 215 East Rusk
  • Susan and Billy Pool, 1004 East Fannin

Adaptive Reuse of Historic Building

  • East Texas Baptist University, 210 East Houston

Educational Programming

Texas Historical Commission, Starr Family Home