ETBU Sports Information

ETBU claimed its third-place overall finish on the men’s side with 136.50 points, trailing only Hardin-Simmons (151.50) and McMurry (171), compiling the most points in program history at the ASC Championships.

ETBU had six first-place finishes, including Mack Broussard, who claimed first in the 1500m (4:03.56), 5000m (15:45.75), and 10000m (33:10.22) while the 4x100m relay squad of Leo Brownfield, Detaveon Lewis, Zack Biles, and Xavier Montgomery took first at 42.13 seconds. Lewis then won the 100-meter dash (10.81) while Montgomery owned the 200-meter dash with a time of 22.19 seconds. These five members were honored as part of the All-American Southwest Conference team with Broussard being named the High Point Athlete and Most Outstanding Track Athlete.

The women’s team finished fourth in the ASC Championships with 85.5 points trailing HSU (224.83), McM (206), and LeTourneau (118.33). It was also the highest point total in program history. The women had four conference championship titles with the 4x100-relay team (Tia Steen-Baker, Randa Slone, Aaryn Honeywood, and Triniti Wilson) taking first in 48.47 seconds. Steen-Baker then added two more titles in the 100-meter dash (12.12) and the 200-meter dash (25.72) while Gracie Almond was the high-jump champion going 1.49 meters. All five members were selected to the All-ASC team while Kylie Embry was given the ASC Sportsmanship Athlete of the Year award.

Editor’s Note: This is the third in a 10-part series looking back at the biggest athletic stories at ETBU in the 2018-19 school year.